Artscape Gallery Network (and other stuff)

Artscape is kind of about art, but mostly it's an overwhelming mass of people (350,000+ attendees the whole weekend, according to the festival's website), food, installations, and vendors—plus a bunch of artists, performers, and musicians from here and elsewhere. Most of those thousands of attendees probably don't make it out of Station North at all over the course of those three days, but they really should, and they should come down for the art in Baltimore more often. There are openings and open hours at many of the city's galleries and artist-run spaces almost every weekend. Take a break from the crowds and chaos, and maybe call or email ahead to make sure the spaces are open this weekend—and if they're not, come back and visit them later. Here are a few highlights: “Resplendent” at the Creative Alliance (3134 Eastern Ave., creativealliance.org), “Existence and Properties Are Inferred” and “Panspermia on Amazon Prime” at Current Space (421 N. Howard St., currentspace.com), “Remediation Flowers” at First Continent (500 W. Franklin St., firstcontinent.info), “To Be Black in White America” at Galerie Myrtis (2224 N. Charles St., galeriemyrtis.com), “People4People” at Gallery CA (440 E. Oliver St., galleryca.org), “Not Now” at Gallery Four (405 W. Franklin St., fourth floor, galleryfour.net), “In My Likeness” in the Silber Art Gallery and “Maximum Value” in the Rosenberg Gallery at Goucher College (1021 Dulaney Valley Road, goucher.edu), “Generations: Joyce J. Scott and Sonya Clark” at Goya Contemporary (3000 Chestnut Ave., goyacontemporary.com), “The Uncertain Landscape” and “Ephemeral Permanence” at Jordan Faye Contemporary (218 W. Saratoga St., top floor, jordanfayecontemporary.com), “Germination” at Jubilee Arts (1947 Pennsylvania Ave., jubileeartsbaltimore.org), “Young Blood” at Maryland Art Place (218 W. Saratoga St., mdartplace.org), “Line/Crossers” at Max Gallery (126 N. Madeira St., maxgallery.us), “Volume Revisited” at New Door Creative (1601 St. Paul St., newdoorcreative.com), “Mae-il Mae-il” at Open Space (512 W. Franklin St., openspacebaltimore.com), “Pyramids Fall Too” at Phoebe (510 W. Franklin St., phoebeprojects.com), “Ut Pictura Poesis” at Platform Gallery (116 W. Mulberry St., platformbaltimore.com), “Small Victories” at School 33 Art Center (1427 Light St., school33.org), “sindikit #3” at sindikit (405 E. Oliver St., sindikit.net), “The Squinter's Watch” at Springsteen (502 W. Franklin St., springsteengallery.com), and “Nyu Hafu” at Terrault Contemporary (218 W. Saratoga St., third floor, terraultcontemporary.com). (Rebekah Kirkman)

Copyright © 2019, Baltimore City Paper, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Privacy Policy
82°